Flash Fiction-ish // Rest in peace

What will you do if you had no choice to choose between your two children? 

//

Rosie loves Skippy. Martie loves Nutella.
Rosie loves orange juice. Martie loves Pepsi.
Rosie loves school. Martie loves parties.
Rosie loves books. Martie loves music.
Rosie loves her natural blonde hair. Martie loves her blue dyed hair.
Rosie loves to help me cook in the kitchen. Martie loves to secretly smoke weed in her room.
Rosie always stayed. Martie always leaved.

My daughters are two different people. Sometimes I wonder if one of my drunken nights out with my friends caused me to have drunk sex with a stranger, a strange father to an estranged child.

It was a normal day when the ground started to shake and the walls started to tumble down. People outside were running for their lives. Rosie ran to the left corner while Martie ran to the right. It was unexpected. No one knew that this disaster would happen on this very day both my daughters are at home with me.

Our shelf on the left side was falling. Falling close to Rosie. The large refrigerator on the right side was already tilting to the right. Tilting close to Martie. I wanted to run to both directions but I am only one person. It was that moment, all my memories to both my children flashed before my eyes.

What will you do if you had no choice to choose between your two children? 

//

I was writing a eulogy to my daughter. My family was down to nothing after our house was wrecked. But nothing stopped me from writing a eulogy to my daughter.

I love you Martie. There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for you to be happy. I wanted to save you but I couldn’t. Leaving you doesn’t mean I didn’t love you as much. I am truly sorry for being your mother.

//

My husband and my daughter were accompanying me to the cemetery. I was looking at the grave, reminiscing the good times I had with my first-born. I was suddenly interrupted by Robert.

“Honey, I know you want to stay here, but Martie needs to attend her baseball practice. We need to go.

//

It was Martie who died that day.

When both of their lives were in danger and both of them needed my help, I know I was only going to save one and I will fail the other- and I choose my first born, Rosie. I ran to Rosie’s rescue but a metal pole impaled her from behind before I could come to her aid. I saw her face. I heard her last words were my name.

Martie managed to run to safety. But it was Martie who died, because I chose to let her die. And I will be sorry for that for all the days of my life.

It was you who died that day.

I hope you rest in peace, love; while I rest in pieces.

2 thoughts on “Flash Fiction-ish // Rest in peace

Leave a comment